About us

(Video clip about the Research Unit Historical Cultural Sciences)

The Research Unit (FSP) Historical Cultural Sciences at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz is an inter-faculty and interdisciplinary institution for the networking and promotion of empirical cultural studies work with a historical perspective.

The FSP came into being in 2008 as part of the image-building strategy of the University of Mainz within the framework of the  “Research Initiative 2008-2011” of the State of Rhineland-Palatinate, continuing in part the work of the inter-university Historical Cultural Sciences Research Centre Mainz-Trier (HKFZ, 2005-2008). The research conducted here starts out from a wide cultural concept and emphasises the importance of methodology and theory, precisely for interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary work. Above all, however, the objective of the Research Unit’s measures is not merely typologising  or speculative research, but one approaching the actual phenomena, such as is conducted in numerous subjects and associations at the University of Mainz. The specifically historical interest in this connection is derived, on the one hand, from the insight that current phenomena and problem situations have historical roots and only become comprehensible from the same, on the other hand, from the conviction that a contrastive look at different historical epochs and constellations can open up new perspectives, even for familiar cultural phenomena.

The FSP’s activities are varied: It initiates new historical-cultural sciences associated research projects, supporting academics engaged in cultural sciences and groups of researchers in a methodological-theoretical, organisational and also financial respect, promoting and organising conferences or workshops. The Forum Young Cultural Sciences also offers the rising generation of academics (graduates studying for a doctorate and postdoctoral researchers) the possibility of academic exchange and networking, as well as general and financial support. In the “HKW Reflexive” discussion group, interested members of the FSP discuss methodological-theoretical bases. The research colloquium held several times per semester with papers given by internal and external cultural sciences researchers followed by discussions is open to interested persons from all faculties. In addition to this, the FSP publishes its own book series “Mainz Historical Cultural Sciences” (transcript-Verlag Bielefeld).

Beyond the bounds of Mainz University, the FSP is working on the networking of historical-cultural sciences research and co-operates with different national and international partners, such as, for instance, the HKFZ Trier, the Institute for Cultural History at the University of Turku (FI) and the International Cultural Studies Research Centre in Vienna. Furthermore, within the framework of the Fellowship “Methods and Theories of Historical Cultural Sciences” organised jointly with the Gutenberg Research College (GRC), outstanding external cultural sciences scholars are invited to Mainz for two semesters in each case. Here they have the opportunity to pursue their own specialist projects, but support in particular Mainz research work in the reflection of methods and theories.

> More information on the structure of the FSP

Wir über uns

 (Videoclip über den Forschungsschwerpunkt Historische Kulturwissenschaften)

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt (FSP) Historische Kulturwissenschaften an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz ist eine fachbereichs- und disziplinenübergreifende Einrichtung zur Vernetzung und Förderung empirisch-kulturwissenschaftlicher Arbeit mit historischer Perspektive.

Der FSP ist 2008 als Teil der Profilbildungsstrategie der Universität Mainz im Rahmen der „Forschungsinitiative 2008-2011“ des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz entstanden und führt in Teilen die Arbeit des interuniversitären Historisch-Kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschungszentrums Mainz-Trier (HKFZ, 2005-2008) fort. Die hier betriebene Forschung geht von einem weiten Kulturbegriff aus und betont die Bedeutung von Methodik und Theorie gerade für die inter- bzw. transdisziplinäre Arbeit. Vor allem jedoch ist das Ziel der Maßnahmen des Schwerpunktes eine nicht bloß typologisierende oder spekulative, sondern sich den tatsächlichen Phänomenen nähernde Forschung, wie sie in zahlreichen Fächern und Verbünden an der Universität Mainz betrieben wird. Das spezifisch historische Interesse leitet sich dabei zum einen aus der Einsicht her, dass aktuelle Phänomene und Problemlagen historische Wurzeln haben und erst aus diesen heraus verständlich werden, zum anderen aus der Überzeugung, dass der kontrastive Blick auf historische differente Epochen und Konstellationen neue Perspektiven auch auf vertraute Kulturphänomene eröffnen kann.

Die Aktivitäten des FSP sind vielseitig: Er initiiert neue historisch-kulturwissenschaftliche Verbundforschungsprojekte, unterstützt KulturwissenschaftlerInnen und Forschergruppen in methodisch-theoretischer, organisatorischer sowie finanzieller Hinsicht, fördert und organisiert Tagungen oder Workshops. Das Forum Junge Kulturwissenschaften bietet auch NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen (DoktorandInnen und Postdocs) die Möglichkeit zu wissenschaftlichem Austausch und Vernetzung sowie allgemeine und finanzielle Unterstützung. In der Gesprächsrunde „HKW Reflexiv“ diskutieren interessierte Mitglieder des FSP methodisch-theoretische Grundlagen. Das mehrmals pro Semester statt findende Forschungskolloquium mit Vorträgen interner und externer KulturwissenschaftlerInnen und anschließenden Diskussionen steht Interessenten aus allen Fachbereichen offen. Der FSP gibt darüber hinaus eine eigene Buchreihe „Mainzer Historische Kulturwissenschaften“ (transcript-Verlag Bielefeld) heraus.

Über die Grenzen der Mainzer Universität hinaus arbeitet der FSP an der Vernetzung historisch-kulturwissenschaftlicher Forschung und kooperiert mit verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Partnern wie etwa dem HKFZ Trier, dem Institut für Kulturgeschichte an der Universität Turku (FI) und dem Internationalen Forschungszentrum Kulturwissenschaften in Wien. Ferner werden gemeinsam mit dem Gutenberg-Forschungskolleg (GFK) exzellente auswärtige KulturwissenschaftlerInnen für ein oder zwei Semester nach Mainz eingeladen. Sie erhalten hier Gelegenheit eigene einschlägige Projekte zu verfolgen, unterstützen aber insbesondere die Mainzer Forschung bei der Methoden- und Theoriereflexion.

> Organisation und Struktur